Friday, 24 May 2019
Masterskaya M. K. Anikushina
The Museum of Urban Sculpture

Studio for New Music (Russia)
Conductor: Igor Dronov

The program:

Alexandra PHILONENKO (*1972)
bellxtreme (Russian Premiere, 2013)
for voice and accordion

Oscar BIANCHI (*1975)
Senza (2018)
for recorder and violin

Simone CARDINI (*1986)
Deriva, in margine a una lontananza, dimentica (Russian Premiere, 2018)
for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano

Jug MARKOVIC (*1987)
m-Tongue (Russian Premiere, 2016/2019)
for flute, clarinet, violin,viola, cello and piano

Kaito NAKAHORI (*1989)
Zero (Russian Premiere, 2015)
for soprano, flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano

Annette SCHMUCKI (*1968)
Repeat one (2017)
for flute, bass clarinet, viola, cello, sampler and 6 tapes

Vladimir TARNOPOLSKI (*1955):
Study of a Girl Reading Pavese (Russian Premiere, 2015)
for soprano and ensemble

Raphaël CENDO (*1975)
Furia (Russian Premiere, 2009-2010)
for cello and piano

Ekaterina Kichigina, soprano
Marina Rubinsteyn, flute
Eugen Barkhatov, clarinet
Vladimir Terekhov, percussion
Natalia Cherkasova, piano
Sergey Tchirkov, accordion
Stanislav Malyshev, violin
Ekaterina Markova, viola
Olga Galochkina, cello


The Studio for New Music (SNM) is the leading contemporary music group in Russia. The ensemble was founded by composer Vladimir Tarnopolski and conductor Igor Dronov in 1993. Their first concert was given in France with Mstislav Rostropovich as conductor.

Every year the ensemble performs about 50 programs in Moscow and throughout the country. Studio is a frequent guest at many Western contemporary music festivals. SNM has performed at such major venues as Berlin Philharmonie, Konzerthaus Wien, Konzerthaus Berlin, Cité de la Musique Paris, Jacqueline du Pre Concert Hall Oxford, Paradiso Amsterdam, Deutschlandfunk Köln, Schönberg Center Vienna, Festspielhaus Hellerau Dresden and many others. Ensemble has conducted a variety of workshops at the universities of Oxford, Harvard and Boston to name a few and has been the first and so far the only Russian group which was invited as ensemble-in-residence at the Darmstadt International Courses for New Music in 2010.

SNM has premiered about 900 compositions of russian and foreign composers. In collaboration with the Ensemble Modern the group also performed the russian premiere of Requiem by Hans Werner Henze and most recently of “…zwei Gefühle” by Helmut Lachenmann. In cooperation with many others with other ensembles Studio has first performed in Russia works by Andriessen, Boulez, Ferneyhough, Grisey, Hurel, Lachenmann, Ligeti, Murail, Rihm, Nono, Stockhausen, among others.
SNM has presented about 60 concert-portraits of the leading contemporary composers. Many of them such as Ivan Fedele, Nicolaus A. Huber, Enno Poppe, Gérard Zinsstag, Roger Redgate have written new works especially for the group. Particular attention has always been payed to all kinds of collaboration with young composers in competitions, workshops, and various other forms.

During last years Studio for New Music focuses on the projects with live electronics, video and multimedia commissioning new works from Russian and European composers. Ensemble have produced in Moscow several contemporary stage works, such as Luci mie traditrici by Salvatore Sciarrino, Le petit chaperon rouge by George Aperghis, Jenseits der Schatten by Vladimir Tarnopolski and several others. Among vast repertoire of the group, special attention is also given to the Early Russian Avant-garde (Nicolai Roslavets, Alexander Mosolov, Ivan Vyshnegradsky, Gavriil Popov and many others). One of the most important events of this kind was the world premiere of the Chamber Symphony No. 2 by Nikolai Roslavets (composed in 1934), which was recently found in an archive.

SNM is the ensemble-in-residence at the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory. It is the core ensemble for the Moscow Forum Festival for contemporary music. In 2002, 2005 and 2012 Studio for New Music won the grants of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung for several projects, including two-years anthological series of concerts with Russian and German music of 20th in Moscow and Russian regions. Studio for New Music won the grant of European Commission for the realization of the large-scale project “Europe through the eyes of Russians. Russia through the eyes of Europeans” with 18 new compositions by Russian and European composers commissioned.

In the concert season 2018-2019 Studio for New Music Ensemble celebrates the 25th anniversary.


Pro Helvetia

Ambassade de France en Russie