Spotlight on Georges Aperghis

9-14 October, 2021, Budapest, Hungary


The Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation announces a workshop for conductors and composers within the Mentoring Program between 9-14 October 2021, in Budapest (Hungary). Invited active conductors and mentees will have the possibility to work on Georges Aperghis’ Migrants and Peter Eötvös’ Aurora, all pieces will be Hungarian premieres, and new pieces by mentee composers will be rehearsed and performed, too.


Due to the ongoing pandemic cancellations and changes are possible in the program. Before travelling make sure you know all the details of the new travel regulations. To enter our masterclass you have to be fully vaccinated with a proven record.

Georges Aperghis is one of the world’s foremost composer, focusing mainly on musical theatre and experimental music. In 2015 he received the prestigious BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award and in 2021 he has been awarded with the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize.

As this workshop is part of the foundation’s Mentoring Program there will be new chamber pieces written for the workshop by 2 mentored composers of the foundation. The workshop offers working sessions with Peter Eötvös, Georges Aperghis, Gregory Vajda and the two mentored composers: Balázs Kecskés D. and Francisco Domínguez. Conductors of the masterclass: Martin Rajna and Jonas Bürgin as mentee conductors and invited young conductors.

The call is open for composers of all nationalities.

Age limit for composers is 35 years, observers (conductors and composers) are accepted without age limit.

The course is suitable for advanced students and professionals with special interest in contemporary music repertoire.


PETER EÖTVÖS, conductor and composer (Hungary / Germany), founder
GREGORY VAJDA, conductor and composer (Hungary / USA ), program director

Guest: GEORGES APERGHIS, composer (GREECE / France)

Featuring: Danubia Orchestra Óbuda

Language of the course: English, German, French, Hungarian


Composer participants: 300 € (to be paid until 24 September 2021)

Observers: 100 € (to be paid until 24 September 2021)


Deadline 15 September 2021



September 15


Add to Calendar