Announcing Selected Composers for Composition Course

The Saint-Petersburg Contemporary Music Center is pleased to announce the result of the first selection round for composition course will be held within the framework of the VI St. Petersburg International New Music Festival, taking place from May 20th — 26th, 2019.

The following seven emerging composers have been selected by the jury for participation in the Composition Course (Group A):

Amin Sharifi
Jug Marković
Seokmin Mun
Simone Cardini
Tianyu Zou
Victor Baez
Zhuosheng Jin

The Composition Course gives participants access to distinguished composers, workshops, composition lessons, lectures and master classes while affording each participant ample time to compose in a relaxed environment and enjoying from the festival concerts and its other events.

The festival offers various musical concepts that facilitate the learning and understanding of a new, unique musical language of numerous dialects created by late 20th century and 21st century composers. The Festival is a point of intersection where the diverse world views of contemporary composers meet at a crossroads of musical paths that have emerged in the past few years.

The festival will be held in distinguished venues around the city, including the Mariinsky Theatre Concert Hall, the New Stage of the Alexandrinsky Theater, the St. Petersburg State Philharmonic, Erarta Museum, Masterskaya M. K. Anikushina, St. John’s Church Jaani Kirik, and the St. Petersburg State Conservatory. Internationally-renowned ensembles will be performing, such as the ensemble für neue musik zürich (Switzerland), Garage Ensemble (Germany), Chronos (Cyprus), Ensemble for New Music Tallinn (Estonia), Studio for New Music Ensemble (Russia), Makrokosmos Quartet (Switzerland), and more. The program of the festival consists exclusively of world premieres and Russian premieres, reaffirming St. Petersburg as a center of world culture, and strengthening its distinction as the cultural capital of Russia.

Learn More